Wednesday, August 16, 2006

My very eager matador...

A science committee just announced that they have agreed upon what defines a "planet". As a result, smaller objects that were controversially ambiguous can now hold the cool title of "planet". The first rule of planet club, you do not talk about planet club.

Long story short, we no longer have just 9 planets in the solar system, we now may have up to 12. Washington Post and NYTimes both cover the story. The article in the former was written by one of the committee members. Apparently, there are two shoo-ins for planet status, Ceres (hang a right past Mars) and Xena (way out past the city).

Hmm, we're going to need a bigger planets of the solar system mnemonic.

Let's see here:

Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Ceres, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto, Xena.

What about:

My vicious ex-girlfriend may call; just start unplugging nearest phones xenophobically

Most vegetarians eat meatless calories, juicy steaks unbearably nasty, prefer xylem

My very eager mutant can't jump skyscrapers uneventfully; not powerful X-man

No comments: